Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

New to windsurfing and looking for advice

Hi all,

I am new to the sport and this forum and would be very grateful for some advice.

Firstly, can anyone recommend decent locations for beginners to learn windsurfing in the South West. I live in Taunton and recently did a lesson in Portland harbour which was excellent (the training provided by OTC was brilliant) however in the long run if I want to get into this seriously I won’t be able to justify the 1.5 hours each way trip to get there. So question- once I have learnt the basics are there other decent locations nearer where I live that anyone can recommend (I think I would prefer sea rather than lake).

Secondly, as a 37 year old guy with family/kids/work etc. responsibilities I will probably only be able to spend a few hours each week in the water. Realistically is that enough time to eventually get to a decent level (planning, water starts, possibly some small jumps etc.), and if so am I looking at 12 months or 12 years (assuming average learning ability). I already love the sport but if it is impossible to get where I want to eventually be then I would rather know now!

Thanks for any all help.

Hi, on the learning side of things your development speed is heavily dependent on how much coaching you get, either through people you sail with or organised courses. The problem with learning this sport is that its quite a slow process teaching yourself. I dont think your age is that much of an issue. However most people I know that plateau in their learning and skills are those that sail in the same place and dont actively seek out conditions and someone to teach them the new move. I started when I was 40 and it was 2nd year before I was planing and harness, yr3 waterstarts, y4 starting to learn carve gybes which I started to get at the end of y4. Everyone is different though......